A Veteran Rest Alone in the Woods…

On a recent drive in the woods a friend and I came across the final resting place of a Civil War soldier.  I realize that there are many Civil War Veterans buried across our countryside, but the thing that drew my attention to this one was the fact that it was completely alone.  My friend and I commented to each other about how there seemed to be no connection or reason for the tomb to be in this place.  As we looked around we noted that there wasn’t any remains of a house nor was there any visual reason for the tomb to be in its place.  The grave is a simple one with a small wooden fence around it.  It seems to be kept up by someone and there are two American flags on either side of the tomb.  One with the marker GAR 1861-1865 and the other being the U.S. War Veteran marker.  The tomb itself is legible and in good shape as you can see from the photo.  So the question arises Why here?  Well we all can venture to guess but for me I just like knowing that the final resting place of this soldier has not went unknown or unkept.

So if your ever in the area around Wharton Iron Furnace take the small lane next to the furnace called Shepard Lane and just a short distance on the left you’ll find the lonely resting place of:

Jacob Hull, Member of Company E 14, PA Cavalry Vol. who died in his 49th year of life.  He joined our troops on March 9, 1864.

 

, , , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Richard Hull on September 22, 2012 - 10:22 pm

    This is my grandfathers grave. He had a farm that surrounded this site, any remains of it are long gone. My family still lives farther out the road and have been there for generations.

    • #2 by Brian Kloock on September 22, 2012 - 10:32 pm

      Thanks so much for the information. I really like it when I can add to the story of the photograph. I was really surprised when I came across the grave that day and saw that he was a soldier in the Civil War.

  2. #3 by Rachael Hull Jesko on April 12, 2014 - 1:59 am

    My grandfather isn’t alone. There are many graves around his just no stones.

Leave a comment